Alone in the Archives

29 05 2010

All. Alone.

Guess how went to work instead of having fun? Meeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Working away at transcriptions, which is pretty dull. I like material culture and consumption history but these inventories are just … well, they are lists. I guess I like better know how people felt about their clothes, what they thought about when they put them on, what they read in the clothing choices of others… I’m not really concerned with how many.

But I’m just sayin’, not complaining. Alright, that might have been a complaint, but I’m not getting ready to mutiny or anything. I’m just pointing out that I’m really not that into the original economic lean which consumption history had before the cultural historians got their hands on it.

x.x Dead Guy Watch x.x

Generally, though, I get no context to the clothing. Usually what I get is this:

List of effects 1 black Coat 1 [work] coat 1 pair canvas Pants 1 pair Drawers 1 Under Flannel 1 Waist Coat 2 Neck Ties 1 Bag 1 [work item] 1 Miniature [Signed by Supervisor]

Not a lot of stuff, really. And besides the black coat and the under flannel, I have no way of knowing what fabrics or colours anything was. Maybe this guy splurged on a paisley necktie. Where his drawers linen or cotton? And at first I though the “miniature” might be a statuette but now I think it might be a painting. Who’s to know? What is it of? A mother, daughter, lover?

Really, though, I should stop wondering too much because it’s just going to make this whole process more painful.

Back to the ol’ drawing board I guess…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

